Staff and Trustees

Dr David Butler
Trust Chair
Dr David Butler is an ornithologist and conservation biologist. As a project manager with the Department of Conservation Dr Butler directed the nature recovery project at Nelson Lakes National Park. Dr Butler is a founding BWST trustee and serves as Chair.
Hudson Dodd
General Manager
Hudson Dodd is the Brook Waimarama Sanctuary Trust’s General Manager. He is a lifelong conservationist with a background that spans the private, public, and non-profit sectors. Now a New Zealand resident, he comes to Nelson from the Pacific Coast of the United States and brings with him a bachelor’s degree in cross-cultural communications and post-graduate work in environmental studies. He has extensive experience in non-profit conservation initiatives, including nearly a decade in management with the innovative non-profit organisation, Conservation Northwest. It was there that Hudson honed his community organising, project management, campaigning, and fund raising skills. Most of the time, he can be found working with staff, volunteers, trustees, and business supporters on sanctuary development, although on occasion he has been known to “go bush” and disappear into the sanctuary with some good hiking boots, a packed lunch and his equally enthusiastic wife, Dawn Gauthier.
Rick Field
Project Coordinator
Rick Field is the Project Coordinator and Educator for the Sanctuary and has been carrying out field based conservation activities, facilitating education programs and coordinating volunteers here since 2007. Rick sits at the nerve center of the sanctuary’s operations, and is the beloved face of the Sanctuary to thousands of students each year. After completing a Science Degree and a Diploma of Education Rick embarked upon a career path that took him places - Switzerland, the Antarctic, the United States, England and Scotland to name a few! Working mainly as a science educator and trainer, Rick’s various roles have included positions at Apple, the Natural History Museum in London and the Smithsonian Institute in the United States.
Naina Mahto
Finance Administrator
Naina Mahto hails from the UK, where she completed a Bachelor of Science in Geography and then spent many years involved in various local conservation projects. Her move to Nelson in 2002 heralded a change of lifestyle that would culminate in forging a new career in bookkeeping, raising two lovely daughters (Rani and Amba) and studying towards a Graduate Diploma in Accounting. When not engaged in juggling career, family and study Naina likes to relax at the beach, go for a bush walk, swim in the Brook Stream, or just generally appreciate the wonderful New Zealand environment.
Derek Shaw
Derek Shaw is a former Nelson City Councillor with 30 years’ experience in local government including chairing a range of committees. An accredited resource management commissioner, Mr Shaw is a trustee on a number of boards, including Nelson Environment Centre and Tasman Regional Sports Event Trust. He is principal with a publishing business, Nikau Press, and is a former member of the Nelson Conservation Board. Mr Shaw is a founding BWST Trustee.
Karen Driver
Karen Driver is a manager with the Nelson Environment Centre. She serves on multiple boards, including the Community Recycling Network. Ms Driver oversaw BWST’s pest-monitoring programme as a volunteer before becoming a BWST Trustee in December 2013.
Christine Hemi
Christine Hemi has served in leadership roles with Ngati Kuia, a recognised Nelson Region iwi, including as a current trustee. Ms Hemi represents Ngati Kuia on the BWST board and has been a BWST Trustee since 2006.
Maurice Woodhouse
Trustee, Treasurer
Maurice Woodhouse has had a long career in the accounting industry, and was a founding partner of one of Nelson’s most respected accountancy firms, RWCA. Mr. Woodhouse became a BWST trustee in 2017.
Cindy Batt
Cindy Batt is an information librarian at the Nelson Library, is a qualified Te Reo tutor, and is also an educator at the Nelson Provincial Museum. Ms Batt serves on various boards, including Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust, and has been a BWST trustee since 2015, representing local iwi.
Ru Collin
Ru Collin has a background in the agribusiness sector, having served in numerous roles and on various boards as a professional director and trustee. Most recently Mr Collin also served as a GM for Kono NZ /Whakatu Inc.Mr Collin became a BWST trustee in 2017
Mike Elson-Brown
Mike Elson-Brown has a background in financial planning and banking, and is a qualified member of the Executor and Trustee Institute of Australasia. Mr Elson-Brown became a BWST trustee in 2016.
Sharon McGuire
Sharon McGuire has over 30 years’ experience in the business and tourism sectors, including having served as CE for Nelson Tasman Chamber of Commerce. She is a professional director, serving on numerous boards. Ms McGuire has returned to the role of BWST trustee again in 2017 after having previously served 2008-2011
Peter Jamieson
Peter Jamieson has over 40 years of experience in the business and financial sectors, most recently having served as NZPost/Kiwibank’s Regional Sales and Service Manager Top of the South. Mr Jamieson became a BWST trustee in 2014.